The Older Giant

Home » news / info » Elemental Kings Event

Elemental Kings Event

Start here

Sunday the 11th September was a day of fantasy gaming at Stockport’s Element Games…

100 minutes per game.

Game 1: Pillage

Game 2: Push

Game 3: Control

Game 4: Dominate

The Day…

It was a great tournament with a mix of player abilities (phew!) with me being completely new. 26 players. Round 1 was random draw, after that it was swiss pairing.

Game 1 (v James’ Salamanders): A turf war with similar forces. Not really knowing what I should do I just lined up as we had some 6 tokens spread out across both sides of the table. You win by controlling more than the enemy at the end of the game. My opponent soon got to grips and pushed in against my troops near a token meaning he would have an extra one if he just consolidated. By the end he controlled two, the others were contested or uncontested. I just didn’t have anything left that could grab control of two objectives. Ah well.

Game 2 (v Sean’s Abyssal Dwarfs) – A really good use of stand-in models and a joy to play against. The aim here was to grab and push three tokens into the other players table half as I recall. All three were in the centre part of the table . Similar problem to game 1. I didn’t think I was doing too bad, but still got beat up. My list was a bit soft and not using it well showed (the long line v. the enemy picking a point to concentrate on). At one point Sean advised using massed shooting at one of his hordes which did kill it. Sadly, the units used got mauled badly over the next couple of turns and soon I had nothing left to fill the gap in the line. Classic use of force where it was needed to break a thinner enemy line. Mauled again!

Somewhere around lunchtime the back banner snapped off my Clan Lord on the Fire Drake – oh well. It really needs a metal banner pole.

Game 3 (v Steve’s Undead – elite force) – Lots of nicely done elite level undead here. I wasn’t really watching the enemy line up too closely and went for the march in and attack strategy. Wrong! I moved my line up and got rear charged by flyers. Crushing defeat by flyer led forces as everything was killed to a Salamander. Nice elite undead army.

Game 4 –  (v Hal’s Nature) – Lovely scratchbuild and converted army. I didn’t over extend my line (but still bit too long) and didn’t push forward too far so managed to get a better game in against a force with a couple of fluffy flyers in it. He did use front arcs well to stop me getting some charges in and I just seemed to crumble on my left flank then was worked to across the table. In the end he got the big kills on turn 6. However, we rolled a turn 7 and then he really got my points off me as I was forced to sit and wait for it or rush in and try to score some damage. In the end I came off worse and my Clan Lord on his Fire Drake was turned to minute steak. We misread the scenario (Dominate). I had about 400 point left but it was on one side of the centre line. The goal is to be within 12 inch of the table centre not centre line. I took about 600 points off him so did better than previous games, but the scenario gave me nothing for being too far from the centre. Our mistake, my loss otherwise I would have got a couple more tournament points!

Four good opponents in my games. All finished within the time (100 mins per game).

Game 1: I lost 19-1

Game 2: I lost 18-2

Game 3: – I lost 20-0

Game 4: I lost 18-2

Got 4 points for painting so my score was 9 out of possible 84.

Surprise, I got 26th out of 26 and won the wooden spoon and a small prize (thanks guys).

Game 1:

game 2

Game 3:

Game 4:

Additional army pics…

Congratulations to Chris Walsh on the Best Painted award – well deserved.

Summary.

I realized at the end my 5 units of Hunters were fluffy and died easily. 500 points invested in these was too much. I had to use the models I had but would not use these again.

Advice from a noob after the above….

Don’t spread out too much! You need weight of numbers and the ability to block rear and flank chargers.If your line is too thin it will be broken and then your force will crumble from enfilading attacks.

Use complimentary units to buff and support (magic is good for bane chanting, healing and surging more so than direct damage IMO).

Make sure you check the Arc of Sight of yours and enemy units as that detrmines whether charges can happen.

If you do get hit in the front and flank in one turn of combat even your hardest units can be killed in that turn. I was taking around 95 or 100 attack dice against an Ankylodon at one point which took some 16 points of damage and couldn’t make the snake eyes Nerve test even on a re-roll.

Don’t get too confident in your Defence 6 creatures. Even a modest unit can reduce that to 5 or even 4 with Crushing Strength and Thunderous Charge.

Go back to the rules and check where you are not sure.

Read the mission rules and work out how to deploy and get in a position to win – don’t go all over the table!

Look at where the other player is deploying his units and respond appropriately.

Practice tactics and combat before events !! Check out the Vassal Engine HERE as you can get a Kow module for it.

Always paint your forces to a tabletop standard and base them as you might be penalised for Tournament points.

Edit: The TO Darren has made a lovely post on the Mantic Forum. You can see it HERE. His pictures are HERE.

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Brendonius says:

    Awesome report. Cool photos of some amazing looking armys. Your force looks excellent. Great touch with the jungle bits additions. Thanks for this report and your thoughts on the game. cheers

    Like

  2. Argentbadger says:

    Nice post and great photos. It sounds like you had a really nice time too. Adding a ‘lessons learned’ section at the end is a great idea.

    Like

  3. This was a pleasure to read and those are some great pics, looking forward to more!

    Like

  4. Thanks to all who have taken the time to leave some great feedback.

    Like

Leave a Reply

