The Older Giant

Home » flames of war » Flames of War – Version 4 Release Event

Flames of War – Version 4 Release Event

Start here

The 11th of March saw a Flames of War version 4 release Event being held by Andy Brown at my FLGS Element Games.

The new rulebook was being offered to V3 players who brought in their books. Its a softback full colour A4 sized book with good bindings (we recall the free mini rulebook for v3 with its lack of spine glue!)

So, I collected mine from the store and then went to find Andy in the gaming area.

I was impressed with the hive of activity. Dave Green and Fraser Green were there lending support to the event.

In the end, 5 tables were all gaming away with players trying to get the rule changes into their heads.

Andy had set up a demo of 1200 points for people to try.

I was offered a learning game opposite a new player, another Mike, with Andy reaching and advising.

The game was fun and well done by Andy. My opponent was friendly and we both took the game in a learning spirit.

I have to say I am so far impressed with version 4 for late war at least as that is what we were playing. Some streamlining has gone on but the new Tactical Movement options really opened up the game.

I got a parachute company to use and Mike had a German infantry company. At three points I thought I must have been about to lose, but the game managed to stay going by a last-minute intervention (troops pushing forward at the right time and so on). It felt very dramatic.

Mike ended up winning after pushing me soundly off an objective. Lovely little game with about 4 or 5 platoons each.

I thoroughly enjoyed the event and credit to Andy for setting it up. Nice to see other faces.

I feel energised now and would be happy to have a game of FoW V4 soon.

Thanks guys.

 

Leave a Reply

